The 2019 Insurance Classic Motor Show : BRSCC Mazda Racing – Round 1 The 2019 Insurance Classic Motor Show : BRSCC Mazda Racing – Round 1
Phone for a quote: 01480 484826

BRSCC Mazda Racing – Round 1

For Round 1 of the BRSCC Mazda Season the team took the 73 mile trip from Haverhill to the world-famous Brands Hatch circuit in Kent on March 23rd and 24th.  

2018 Drivers

In the Mk1 Championship we had returning drivers of Simon Woods, Clive Chisnall, father and son team Adrian and Charlie Burge and Bruce Robinson starting his first full season.  In addition, there were two new drivers in Lewis Cannon and Teddy Clark, with regulars Sam Gendy and James Love joining us in later rounds.

In the new Mk3 Super Series, we have three of our 2017 Mk1 drivers who have made the move to the newer model. Patrick Collins, Josh Jackson and Matt Pickford will be competing in the Series which is taking place on the same race card as the Mk1 weekends.

Competition Format

The Mk1 Championship and the Mk3 Super Series will be competed over eight rounds in 2018 with three races at each round (Brands Hatch, Snetterton, Cadwell Park, Oulton Park, Silverstone, Anglesey, Rockingham and Donington). 

Brands Hatch: Race 1

Mk1 Championship 1A

A good close race saw reigning champion Will Blackwell Chambers take P1 with Ollie Allwood and Sam Smith rounding out the podium. BC Cars Charlie Burge made up some good places to take the best finish for the team in P6.  Teddy Clark dropped a couple of spots in the first lap and again a place in the second lap to eventually finish in P9 and Lewis Cannon made up good places to finish P17.  All drivers managed to escape the drop to Race 2B.  

Mk1 Championship 1B

The top four drivers pulled away quickly and the race became in effect three races (P1 to P4, P5 to P7 and then P8 onwards). Paul Tucker took P1, our own Simon Woods took P2 and Charlie Rawles joined them on the podium in P3. Adrian Burge made great progress to finish P6 and Clive Chisnall and Bruce Robinson made up a couple of places finishing in P13 and P21 respectively. With a remarkable final lap, Bruce grabbed the points for fastest lap. Simon Woods brought home the first silverware for the team this season and was promoted to Race 2B.

Super Series

A differential oil leak onto the track from Simon Oranges’ car made for an interesting Lap 1 and Lap 2 for the drivers who were met with a very slippery surface. Matt Pickford had a high speed spin on Lap 1 and Patrick Collins suffered a front left suspension failure on Lap 2 causing him to pull up and not finish.  Joshua Jackson took P1 in a very close race with Jake Bailey in P2 and Richard Breland in P3.  Matt went on to finish in P8 after a good comeback.

Race 2

Mk1 Championship 2A

Another close race with all 24 cars finishing and the podium was almost identical to Race 1A with Will Blackwell-Chambers in P1, Sam Smith in P2 and Ollie Alwood in P3.  Charlie Burge dropped a place to finish P7, Teddy Clark dropped 2 places to finish P11, Lewis Cannon finished P17 for the second time and the promoted Simon Woods finished P20 which was not enough to avoid the relegation to Race 3B.

Mk1 Championship 2B

An uneventful race with all three BC Cars making it home. The podium saw Clive Powles take P1, Marcus Bailey take P2 and Paul Bateman take P3.  Adrian Burge made up one place to give him P5 and the all-important promotion position to race 3A.  Clive Chisnall made up one more place finishing P12 and Bruce Robinson rounded out the drivers by making up four places and finishing P17.

Super Series

Josh Jackson completed a “Lights to Flag” perfect race to finish in P1 and the same faces made up the podium with Jake Bailey in P2 and Richard Breland in P3. Patrick Collins made good progress in the race from his DNF in Race 1 to finish in P8.  Matt Pickford made a mistake on Lap 4 where he missed his braking point for Clearways and had to make a drive across the grass to get back on the track.  He eventually finished in P11.  Josh also bagged the fastest lap.

Race 3

Mk1 Championship 3A

Mechanical issues featured again in this race.  Will Blackwell Chambers finished P1 for a hat-trick of wins followed by Sam Smith in P2 and Brian Trott in P3.  Teddy Clark made up two places during the race to finish P9. Charlie Burge suffered a gearbox failure on Lap 4 when his gearbox became jammed in 4th gear. He was able to complete the race with just the one gear but finished in P20 just in front of his promoted Dad in P21. Lewis Cannon would eventually retire on Lap 17 after having to make an un-scheduled trip to the pits on Lap 3 after contact with another car left him with a puncture and a broken wheel.

Mk1 Championship 3B

Charlie Rawles took the win with Oliver Robinson in P2 and Jack Moody in P3. Simon Woods had led the race up to and after the safety car on Lap 5 when Sam Riley ended up in the Paddock Hill gravel trap and required recovery for safe racing. Simon made a great re-start and held the lead until Lap 16 and eventually finished P4 after a couple of gear selection mistakes and missed out on a second podium of the weekend.  Bruce Robinson made good progress again and finished in P13.  Clive Chisnalls race ended in the gravel at Clearways after contact with Callum Greatrex.  Callum was later disqualified by the stewards for the contact.

Super Series

Josh Jackson missed out on a clean sweep of victories when his weekend long battle with Jake Bailey finished the other way round with Jake finishing P1 and Josh in P2. This time a different visitor joined them on the podium with Paul Sheard picking up P3. After making exactly the same braking mistake as Matt in race 2, Patrick Collins eventually finished in P9 and Matt Pickford had a DNF on Lap 14 when both exhaust brackets broke leaving his exhaust dragging along the ground with spectacular sparks and resulted in him retiring to the pits.

Championship Standing after Round 1

 P9 – Teddy Clark (248 Points) P10 – Charlie Burge (240 Points) P23 – Simon Woods (162 Points) P25 – Adrian Burge (148 Points) P27 – Lewis Cannon (136 Points) P40 – Bruce Robinson (66 Points) P41 – Clive Chisnall (60 Points)

IMG 20180417 WA0034 




Add Comment

Quick quote

Which department would you like to speak to?